Turkey: Selcuk and Ephesus

Turkey does not have an expansive train system so the bus is the way to get around the country. Traveling overnight on the bus saves daylight hours for exploration. There are a couple of stops each trip for rest room and meal breaks.

I took the night bus from Istanbul to Selcuk. Instead of staying in town I waited for the ride out to Atilla’s Getaway, about a mile or two outside of Selcuk. Atilla’s is a wonderful mix of hotel, hostel, resort and conference center. There were folks of all ages staying there–some in rooms some in the dorms. A group of young men, who all met traveling, made sure there was a party every night. Dinner and breakfast were included every day (big portions and so delicious!). While I was checking in, someone noticed it was my birthday on my passport. That night there was a surprise birthday cake for me. I don’t think I paid for any Ephes Beer.

There was a trip to Ephesus to see the magnificent ruins. I spent a day downtown at the weekly market and visited the Ephesus Archaeological Museum and the ruins of St. John Basilica. And then back to Atilla’s for dinner and a nice, cold beer!

About Vickie

I wasn't always a morning person.

Leave a Reply

